#11: a Thai wedding

Eight and I have been married over a year now, but we haven’t had a ceremony yet. We never really wanted to have a ceremony. I’d never daydreamed of a white wedding as a kid, and, well, Eight just always assumed he would have a traditional Thai wedding. We happily signed the marriage documents and are registered as married. That was enough for us, but Eight’s family really need the wedding to truly grasp that we are married.

So, we are now planning our wedding, a year and a half after signing the papers.

I always knew weddings would be stressful to plan, but throwing in a language barrier, a different culture and 250 guests you don’t know.. it gets interesting! Very interesting.

We will have our wedding in Eight’s home town, which is a very small village, where they rarely (if ever) see a foreigner. The wedding will be very traditional, and the whole village has been invited.

I’ll keep you posted as we continue planning (don’t worry, it won’t turn into a wedding blog)!!

12 thoughts on “#11: a Thai wedding

  1. Hello, thanks for reading my blog – I used to live in Thailand and I love it. I was once invited to a Thai wedding near where I was living and the food was FABULOUS, but the bride and groom didn’t look like they were having a wonderful time because they had to stand and formally receive all the guests for the entire duration. I look forward to reading about yours. k

    • Where did you live in Thailand and for how long? Thai weddings are really long,with the morning ceremony and blessings, and then as you mentioned about formally receiving the guests!
      I hope we can enjoy ours, I’ll be sure to post about it.
      Thanks for coming by my blog, too πŸ™‚

  2. If you would have your family over from your country, it would be beautiful.
    I was married in France but none of my fam could attend(for private reasons that I won’t expand on hΓ¨re). Enjoy your wedding preps!

  3. What do you find the best/most stressful parts of it? I think one of my reservations about having a wedding is sharing something so intimate in front of so many people. But then again, it can be nice being the centre of attention for an entire day!

    • I agree, that was one of the reasons we never had a ceremony in the beginning. I think marriage is a personal event, and I don’t like the idea of having one day to show / prove your commitment. I think weddings are becoming overly commercial and the meaning behind the day can sometimes be lost.

      A Buddhist Thai wedding is very different, and I’ll be posting more about what will happen during the day as we plan more.

      Thanks for stopping by. πŸ™‚

    • His hometown is in Phichit, it’s such a small little town as well, it’s certainly going to be interesting!
      We’re living in Bangkok at the moment, but will be moving early next year to somewhere closer to the sea!
      Are you living in Thailand?

Leave a Reply

