#14: the story of signing important documents

Eight and I signed our marriage documents a year and a half ago. That year and a half has flown by, and I can’t believe how far we have come in that time. We still laugh together about the day we signed our marriage certificate. You would hope that the day you marry the love of your life, that your day would be romantic and happy. Yes, it was a happy day.. but romantic, no, it definitely wasn’t romantic.

At least we can laugh about it.

Before we could sign the marriage papers we had to get so many different papers and documents translated into Thai, and then certified as being a true translation. This meant days of running around all over Bangkok, paying all sorts of fees, just to prove that I was free to marry.

We woke up early in the morning, and checked that we had all the documents that we needed, and left, excited for our new married life to begin. We arrived at the Amphur office (similar to a town hall, but really nothing special, more like a Government office). We waited in line, behind five or so couples waiting to get their number.

We got our number, and went and sat down in the waiting area. We had about 10 couples before us, all waiting to sign their papers. There were a few male westerners with their to-be Thai wives, I was the only female westerner. There was a couple with cameras, friends, family, dressed as though they were in a church service. It was very sweet.

Eight and I looked at each other, excited when our number was called. We stood up, and Eight handed over our documents, we were told to sign, and wait at another desk. We walked to the other desk, and I asked Eight excitedly,

“When do we sign the marriage certificate?”

He looked at me, confused, and replied, “We signed it when we first came in.”

I looked at him shocked! Shocked that I hadn’t realised, and shocked that Eight didn’t tell me!

We had been officially married for thirty minutes, and I hadn’t known. A great way to begin married life!! He looked at my sad face, and kissed me softly, whispering into my ear “I love you, wifey”. I smiled, everything was ok.

We were finally handed our certificates, a grin came over both of our faces, until we opened them, and saw, that my name had Mr. infront of it.. and Eight’s had, Mrs.

We then had to wait another 30 minutes for the staff to correct their mistake, after laughing about it for longer than necessary!

Finally, we walked out husband and wife, and went and ate noodle soup on the street. Romantic.

To be fair, we did have a lovely romantic dinner that night, so not all unromantic!

 

6 thoughts on “#14: the story of signing important documents

  1. My wife and I were in the jewelry store, and she was “Trying on” rings. She had one on that I liked. We had no plans of getting married, and there was no formal proposal. The clerk asked if I wanted to see about opening a line of credit. I responded “Ok.”

    I was declined, so we opened it under my wife’s name… Then we defaulted and it went to collections. We eventually paid…

  2. Pingback: #21 : The year I turned 21 | a little cup of coffee

Leave a Reply

